Pre-Collegiate School Relations Committee

The Pre-Collegiate School Relations Committee educates High School counselors, students, parents, and sometimes teachers about the availability of financial aid and the aid application process.

Our major event each year is the High School Counselor Financial Aid Workshops held each fall at various locations across the state.  Financial aid administrators from around the state along with personnel from the Higher Educational Aids Board (HEAB), the Department of Public Instruction, and Great Lakes Higher Education Guaranty Corporation pool their expertise and resources to make these workshops informative and useful. The program is designed to assist those responsible for counseling Wisconsin students about post-secondary financial planning, including the financial aid application process, types of aid, and any changes for the upcoming academic year.




Interested in attending??



2014 Workshops have ended - keep an eye out next spring for the dates/sites for 2015!!




Review or download the 2014 workshop presentation or other workshop materials including:


Hot Topic Activities Keys

Dependency Questions


Which Parent to Use?

When to Contact Financial Aid Office


WASFAA Handouts

Before applying for a Private Loan

Comparing Aid Offers

Cost of Attendance

Helpful Info on the Web


HEAB Handouts

WI School Code Chart

Program Details

WI Covenant Steps


DPI/WEOP Handouts

Program Details


Federal Student Aid Handouts

Comparing Colleges

Dependency Determination

Determing Parent for FAFSA

Federal Loan Programs

If you have questions or need assistance please contact Workshop Chair 



Want to join our Committee?



If you're interested in becoming a member, please feel free to contact the current co-chairs, Alyssa Tessmer (Marquette University) and Jennifer Weber (UW-Lacrosse).  Our committee typically meets at WASFAA conferences in the Fall and Spring and otherwise meets via conference calls a few times throughout the year.




Current members - Donna Dahlvang (UW-Superior), Alisha Dean (UW Colleges), Megan DeRusha (UW-Stout), Vicki Gack (Beloit College), Sharon Hunter (DPI/WEOP), Sherrie Nelson (HEAB), Alison Orton (UW Credit Union), Mike Prasher (DPI/WEOP), John Reinemann (HEAB), Judith Sasso-Mason (Cardinal Stritch University), Lynne Siewert (UW-Madison), Alyssa Tessmer (Marquette), Julie Waldvogel (Moraine Park Technical College), Jennifer Weber (UW-La Crosse), and Dave Woodward (Ripon College)